1. It’s Easy! The reason it’s easy is that every item in any recipe that contains any gluten or dairy is completely replaceable by comparable, safe alternatives. I have easily adapted my favorite recipes and even made up some great recipes myself (and I’m no expert). My family enjoys all the things that other families enjoy: waffles, chocolate cake, pie, bread, muffins, biscuits, you name it: all gluten and dairy-free. Family and friends love coming to my house for meals and if I didn’t tell them they would never guess there is anything “missing” from the food they gladly eat here. Which leads me to the second secret…
  2. It’s Delicious! I’ve heard horror stories of food that only someone with Celiac would eat (and only for lack of options). But that never should be the case anymore. I’ll give you an example here. This is a recipe that I made up to replace the all-important and much-loved pumpkin pie. While it’s possible to make a great tasting gluten-free pie crust, this recipe, essentially a crust-less pumpkin pie, is much easier. Instead of making a pie crust, not a task many people take on these days, this recipe is simply whipped up in a food processor, poured into an oiled dutch oven, and baked for 50-55 minutes in a 350 degree oven.
Pumpkin Mousse
Empty 2 cans of One-Pie Pumpkin into the food processor and set the motor going. While the machine is running, add the following:
1 tsp. Cinnamon
1 tsp. Nutmeg
1 tsp. Ginger
1 tsp Salt
1 TBS molasses
Scant 3/4 Cup Honey (I put the tablespoon of molasses into the cup measure and then add honey up to the 3/4 line).
4 eggs
2 tsps. Xanthum Gum (easily available in health food stores).
As this is continuing to whip-up in the food processor, oil a dutch oven (I use olive oil or organic Smart Balance (non-hydrogenated margarine). Pour the mixture into the pot, cover it, and bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes. Enjoy!